The Law Society is delighted to present its Continuing Professional Development (CPD) programme and is proud to support the education of the Western Australian legal profession. Our unrivalled programme connects you with leaders in the profession, judiciary and academia. As the representative body of the legal profession and a not-for-profit organisation, the Law Society’s focus remains to provide an outstanding educational experience tailored to the needs of local practitioners. Our seminars, webinars, workshops and forums are informative and practical, providing you with information that you can use in your day-to-day practice, and unparalleled networking opportunities.

We understand it can be a challenge for busy lawyers, and especially country practitioners, to join us for face-to-face seminars at our training facility at 160 St Georges Terrace, Perth. The Law Society therefore takes a multi-faceted approach to legal education, offering webinars – sessions that can be accessed live online – and our CPD Online platform, through which you can obtain high quality CPD seminars, wherever and whenever you like.

For queries, contact CPD Services on (08) 9324 8640 or email

CPD Rules and Regulations

The Legal Practice Board is the regulator of Continuing Professional Development in Western Australia and your first point of contact for an CPD requirement queries.

The Legal Profession Act 2008, along with the Legal Profession Rules 2009 and the Legal Profession Regulations 2009, came into effect on 1 March 2009. For details of the amendments please read the notice from the Legal Practice Board.

The CPD year commences on 1 April and ends on 31 March the following year. In each year a minimum of 10 CPD points must be completed in order for a practitioner to renew their Practising Certificate. Each practitioner must complete 10 points from the following competency areas, with at least 1 point from each competency.

Competency Area 1:   Practice Management
Competency Area 2:   Professional Skills
Competency Area 3:   Ethics and Professional Responsibility
Competency Area 4:   Substantive Law

For more information please visit

legalsuper is an industry super fund with a long and proud history of supporting member associations within Australia’s legal community. They partner with all law societies and institutions Australia wide. The Law Society of Western Australia highly values its ongoing support.