The Law Society’s awards scheme provides an opportunity to reward and recognise members of the legal profession from Western Australia. If you wish to nominate someone for an award, please provide a brief note as to why the person should be considered, based on the award criteria, and email it to Francesca Giglia.

The Law Society will, from time to time, also call for nominations via Friday Facts.

WA Lawyer of the Year Awards

In the lead up to Law Week each year, the Law Society invites members to submit entries to the WA Lawyer of the Year Awards.

The WA Lawyer of the Year Awards recognise practitioners who have made particularly noteworthy contributions to the Western Australian legal profession, over and above what might be reasonably expected through paid legal employment.

Please see our WA Lawyer of the Year awards page for more information.

Attorney General’s Community Service Law Awards

The Attorney General’s Community Service Law Awards recognise a legal practitioner and organisation that have provided outstanding pro bono legal services to the Western Australian community.

The individual award recognises a legal practitioner who volunteers their time and legal expertise free of charge or at a discounted rate to help others in the community. Legal practitioners are nominated by legal practices, practitioners or community organisations.

The organisation award recognises an organisation that demonstrates an outstanding commitment to providing pro bono legal work to benefit the Western Australian community.

Nominations for the 2017 Attorney General’s Community Service Law Awards will be open soon.

Application forms will be available from

The Attorney General presented the awards at the Law Week Breakfast that was held on Monday, 16 May 2016, which was organised by the Law Society.

Past winners

2016 – Michael Tucak and King & Wood Mallesons
2015 – Adam Levine
2014 – Elspeth Hensler
2013 – David Jenaway
2012 – Kylie Groves
2011 – Michael Cockram
2010 – Samantha Maddern
2009 – Richard Price
2008 – Bruce Dodd