2016 Grand Final

The grand final of the 2016 Mock Trial Competition between teams from Carey Baptist College and Chisholm Catholic College recently took place on Thursday, 13 October 2016 in Court 1 of the Supreme Court with the Chief Justice of Western Australia, the Hon Wayne Martin AC, presiding.

The judgment in the matter came down in favour of the team from Carey Baptist College, acting for the plaintiff, however when the competition scores were revealed, their valiant opponents from Chisholm Catholic College won ‘by a whisker’ on points, and carried off the 2016 Mock Trial Competition trophy.

2016 Mock Trial Competition winenrs
The ‘Chisholm Challengers’ from Chisholm Catholic College with their teachers and coaches.  

It was another record year for the Competition with 1,200+ students in 130 teams from 56 schools taking part.

The Competition would not be possible without volunteers from the legal profession and we thank the 143 volunteers from the profession that took on the role of a coach or judge in 2016.

 Previous Grand Final Winners

2016 Chisholm Catholic College
2015 Hale School
2014 Mt Lawley Senior High School
2013 Mt Lawley Senior High School
2012 Presbyterian Ladies’ College
2011 Wesley College (Team Gold)
2010 St Hilda’s Anglican School for Girls
2009 St Hilda’s Anglican School for Girls
2008 Shenton College
2007 Christ Church Grammar School
2006 Mercedes College
2005 Methodist Ladies’ College
2004 Carmel School
2003 Methodist Ladies’ College
2002 St Hilda’s Anglican School for Girls

2001 Morley Senior High School
2000 Christ Church Grammar School
1999 Santa Maria College
1998 Guildford Grammar School
1997 Carmel School
1996 Frederick Irwin Anglican Community School (Mandurah)
1995 Perth College
1994 Wesley College
1993 Wesley College
1992 St Mary’s Anglican Girls’ School
1991 Bunbury Cathedral Grammar School
1990 Morley Senior High School
1989 Servite College
1988 Mercedes College
1987 Christ Church Grammar School