The Legal Practice Board is the regulator of Continuing Professional Development (CPD) in Western Australia and your first point of contact  for an CPD requirement queries.

The Legal Profession Act 2008, along with the Legal Profession Rules 2009 and the Legal Profession Regulations 2009, came into effect on 1 March 2009 and amendments are now in place 2015-2016 CPD year. For details of the amendments please read the notice from the Legal Practice Board.

Brief Overview of CPD Rules

The CPD year commences on 1 April and ends on 31 March the following year. In each year a minimum of 10 CPD points must be completed in order for a practitioner to renew their Practising Certificate. Each practitioner must complete 10 points from the following competency areas, with at least 1 point from each competency.

Competency Area 1:   Practice Management
Competency Area 2:   Professional Skills
Competency Area 3:   Ethics and Professional Responsibility
Competency Area 4:   Substantive Law

For more information please visit