2020 Lawyer of the Year Awards – Postponed

The Lawyer of the Year Awards recognise practitioners who have made particularly noteworthy contributions to the Western Australian legal profession, over and above what might be reasonably expected through paid legal employment.

The Law Society normally invites members to submit entries to the Lawyer of Year Awards in the first quarter of year, with the nominations and winners being announced at the Law Week Awards Night on the Friday of Law Week each year.

Unfortunately, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Lawyer of the Year Awards and the Law Week Awards Night have been postponed to a later date. We will advise the new date and open nominations when possible. If you have any questions, please contact membership@lawsocietywa.asn.au

Previous Award Recipients

Practitioner with more than five years’ experience

2019 – Dr Carolyn Tan

2018 – Haley Allan
2017 – Simon Creek and Nicholas van Hattem
2016 – Claire Rossi and Glen McLeod
2015 – John Fiocco
2014 – Melanie Cave
2013 – Thomas Percy QC
2012 – Denis McLeod and Clare Thompson
2011 – Shayla Strapps and Amanda Goodier
2009 – Steven Penglis
2008 – Dr Johannes Schoombee

Practitioner with less than five years’ experience

2019 – Kelsi Forrest

2018 – Tegan Harrington
2017 – Krista McMeeken
2016 – Michael Geelhoed
2015 – Callum Hair
2014 – Jessica Bowman and Stephanie Puris
2013 – Gary Mack
2012 – Tammy Solonec
2011 – Breony Allen
2009 – Toni Emmanuel
2008 – Anna Rakoczy

Sponsored by

Murdoch University

Lawyer of the Year (less than 5 years’ experience)