2020 Winners

In a year of unexpected hardships, when many senior school students saw their opportunities for co-curricular activities crumble, the Mock Trial Competition provided a welcome distraction and a positive experience.  625 school students participated in 2020, and 80 trials were held, including two Zoom trials. 260 students achieved accreditation towards their high school graduation through their participation. The COVID-19 emergency disrupted our season, but we continued (with a delayed time frame) with 56 teams from 31 schools, and completed the three ‘round robin’ Competition Rounds.

Our season concluded in September when we completed the third round of trials.  The team that finished at the top of the ranked list of 56 teams was ‘La Salle Legal’, of La Salle College in Middle Swan.  The team included several Year 12 students who had been involved for three years, and had reached the Finals rounds in previous years.  There was no Grand Final in 2020 and the winner’s trophy was awarded to La Salle College.  They were coached by their teacher, Ms Peta Handley, with help from alumnus and 2017 school captain, law student Mr Luke Spadano.

78 lawyers or law students volunteered in the 2020 season.  28 acted as coaches, and 50 acted as judges, and we sincerely thank those volunteers for their generosity and enthusiasm.

Previous Grand Final Winners

2020 La Salle College
2019 Wesley College
2018 Hale School
2017 Chisholm Catholic College
2016 Chisholm Catholic College
2015 Hale School
2014 Mt Lawley Senior High School
2013 Mt Lawley Senior High School
2012 Presbyterian Ladies’ College
2011 Wesley College (Team Gold)
2010 St Hilda’s Anglican School for Girls
2009 St Hilda’s Anglican School for Girls
2008 Shenton College
2007 Christ Church Grammar School
2006 Mercedes College
2005 Methodist Ladies’ College
2004 Carmel School
2003 Methodist Ladies’ College

2002 St Hilda’s Anglican School for Girls
2001 Morley Senior High School
2000 Christ Church Grammar School
1999 Santa Maria College
1998 Guildford Grammar School
1997 Carmel School
1996 Frederick Irwin Anglican Community School (Mandurah)
1995 Perth College
1994 Wesley College
1993 Wesley College
1992 St Mary’s Anglican Girls’ School
1991 Bunbury Cathedral Grammar School
1990 Morley Senior High School
1989 Servite College
1988 Mercedes College
1987 Christ Church Grammar School