2017/18 Annual Report

The Ethics Committee had another active year, with sub-committees reporting on a range of issues, culminating in the publication of the Law Society’s new guidelines on Unbundling of Legal Services and the discussion paper People Unlawfully Engaging in Legal Work: Protecting the Community.

The Committee continues its work in advocating for the adoption of the Uniform Law in Western Australia, including providing a submission to the Law Council of Australia on its review of the Australian Solicitors’ Conduct Rules and participating in the Law Society’s new Legal Profession Uniform Law Working Group. The Committee has also contributed to the Law Society’s
discussion paper concerning the Future of the Legal Profession and will continue to contribute to the Law Society’s Futures Reference Group.

The Convenor has contributed to the Law Society’s Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorism legislation and Future of the Legal Profession Working Groups. He is occasionally asked to provide ethical advice to members of the Law Society and speak at public events.

The Committee undertakes a monitoring role of new methods of professional advertising and alternative ways of providing legal services and other professional conduct matters as required from time to time.

The Committee has commenced its general review of the Society’s Ethical and Practice Guidelines to ensure they remain up to date. The Committee thanks Cinzia Donald for her continuing assistance with this task.

The Committee acknowledges the considerable contribution to the Committee’s activities of Fiona Vernon (now Her Honour Judge Fiona Vernon). The Committee congratulates her on her appointment to the bench and acknowledges her invaluable role as Deputy Convenor of the Ethics Committee.

For more information about this committee please email General Manager, Advocacy – Mary Woodford,